Connect with us!

Call now for a FREE consultation

(561) 375-9500

How Long Will the Insurance Company Pay for My Rental Car After a Florida Car Accident?

Get Your Free Consultation
Aerial view of cars in a parking lot

Insurance policies usually provide up to 30 days of rental car coverage following an accident. The exact amount of time your insurance carrier will cover this cost depends entirely on the language of your policy. If you’ve been in an accident and your vehicle was damaged, an attorney might be able to help. In addition to seeking compensation for your injuries, you could also have a viable property damage claim to pursue.

Contact us at Kogan & DiSalvo for a free consultation. We are a full-service law firm that takes cases on a contingency basis- that means you owe us no attorney fees unless we win money on your behalf. Talk to a Florida car accident attorney to determine what your policy will cover for a rental car. In addition, this initial consultation also offers a no-obligation opportunity to ask questions and see if you have a valid personal injury claim.

What Is the Maximum Rental Period on Your Policy?

As noted above, insurance policies usually provide up to 30 days of rental car coverage. However, there are a few important things to understand about obtaining these benefits. First and foremost, you will need to ask for them. Unless you request a rental car from your insurance company, your carrier will not provide one.

Further, knowing the maximum rental period in your policy is essential. Your insurance company is unlikely to authorize that full amount of time upfront. Instead, they may imply you have less than that – unless you request it.

Avoid These Mistakes So You Don’t Incur Out of Pocket Costs

An insurance claims adjuster with a clipboard examining a damaged car

You could find yourself paying out-of-pocket costs, even when the rental is covered by your insurance company. It’s important to avoid these mistakes:

  • Do not delay your return. Often, vehicle repairs take less than 30 days. Once it is ready, you do not need the rental anymore. You are responsible for the cost if you keep it past that point.
  • Avoid fees. The rental company will push you to pay for insurance. You are responsible for paying this and other options on your own—not the insurance company.
  • Do not upgrade. Your insurance coverage will provide you with a rental car, but if you decide to upgrade to a larger or more luxurious vehicle, expect to pay for it on your own.

Which insurance company pays for my rental car?

First, you need to know what insurance policies would cover your accident. Second, it is crucial to know who is at fault.

If you have full coverage, your policy likely includes coverage for the cost of your rental car. You could file a claim with your insurance, no matter what other policies are in play. However, the other driver’s policy could also cover you if their driver was at fault.

If you were at fault for the accident, your only option is through your policy. If you do not have full coverage, your policy will likely not include coverage for your rental vehicle.

Schedule a Free Case Evaluation with Us at Kogan & DiSalvo

Two people shaking hands in a law office

You have the right to hire an attorney to handle your property damage claim as well as possible compensation for medical bills and pain and suffering. Dealing with the auto insurance company on your own can be risky, but we are here to help. Our client-focused, compassionate team is dedicated to fighting for your rights. Contact our firm as soon as possible for your free case evaluation.

  • By providing your phone number, you agree to receive text messages from Kogan and DiSalvo. Message and data rates may apply. Message frequency varies.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Our Locations

If you are injured and unable to come to us,
our attorney will come to you - there is no charge for us to do so.