If you can’t work due to injuries after a car accident in Florida, you can collect insurance money from several sources, depending on the particulars of your injuries and how long you are out of work. If the other driver’s negligence was responsible for the crash, you may be eligible to pursue additional damages through a personal injury claim.
How Will Insurance Cover Me for Lost Work?
When you are unable to work after a Florida automobile accident, there are several kinds of insurance that may compensate you.
PIP insurance covers 60% of lost wages up to $10,000. PIP insurance provides coverage regardless of who is at fault.
In addition, you can look to additional policies (if you carry them) for lost wages coverage:
- Uninsured motorist (if the other driver uninsured or underinsured)
- Bodily Injury liability policy (if the accident is the fault of the other driver)
Insurers often employ strategies to avoid paying injury victims the full compensation they deserve. That’s why it’s in your best interest to refrain from signing any insurance documents or negotiating with insurance companies until you have spoken with an attorney.
You can be confident that a Kogan & DiSalvo Florida car accident lawyer will listen patiently and respond with clear and helpful answers. We advocate zealously for each and every client to obtain the maximum recovery under Florida law.
What Should I Tell My Employer?
You should immediately tell your employer that you were in a car accident and that your doctor said you cannot work. Coordinate with the employer’s benefits administrator and learn whether you are eligible for any company disability benefits.
For example, Florida employers sometimes carry Short Term Disability policies, which cover employees for non-permanent disability claims. Typically, there is a 90-day waiting period before benefits commence.
Be truthful and realistic with your employer about how long you anticipate being unable to work. Provide supporting documentation that may aid in obtaining benefits. Be diligent about medical appointments, obtaining diagnoses, and following through on therapies.
You may also consider filing a claim for Social Security Disability Insurance. Doing so with the help of a lawyer is highly advisable. The federal government expects to see a strong record of proof at the commencement of your case. An SSDI case proceeds through legal stages, including a hearing where claimants are represented by counsel.
How Kogan & DiSalvo Can Help
You have the right to full and fair compensation after a car accident leaves you unable to work in Florida.
Florida law takes into consideration not only the salary you are missing out on right now, but also the future opportunities you’ve lost because of your injuries. PIP provides minimal compensation, and may not be enough to sustain you when you are unable to work because of a serious accident.
Recent changes in Florida law now leave you with typically only about two years from the time of your accident to bring a legal claim.
At Kogan & DiSalvo, we build the strongest possible case on your behalf to substantiate your injuries and earning history. We’ll demonstrate how the accident damaged your earning potential and will fight to obtain the largest possible recovery for you through legal settlement or trial.
Your time to bring a legal claim is limited by law, so reach out now to our team at Kogan & DiSalvo and schedule a free consultation to discuss your case and review your legal options. We charge no fee until we recover money for you.