Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance has been mandated under Florida law since 1971. PIP is required to register a vehicle in the state and pays $10,000 in qualifying damages to any person hurt in an accident, regardless of who’s at fault. It covers 80% of medical expenses, 60% of lost wages if you can’t work, as well as child care and other replacement services you may need. However, in a serious car accident, you can go outside the state’s no-fault laws and bring a claim for damages against the other driver.
If you’ve been hurt in an accident, and need help getting the compensation you need to rebuild your life, contact us at Kogan & DiSalvo for a free consultation with a car accident attorney. When you need a compassionate, full-service law firm that takes cases on a contingency basis, you can count on our team.
Who is Protected by PIP?
PIP coverage extends beyond the owner of the vehicle and applies to:
- Passengers or household members in an insured vehicle
- Bicyclists hit by an insured vehicle
- Pedestrians hit by an insured vehicle
- Children injured while riding a school bus
Please note that motorcyclists are not covered by PIP insurance, even when they are in an accident with a car covered by PIP.
What Does Florida PIP Cover?
As noted above, Florida PIP covers up to 80% of your medical expenses after an accident and 60% of lost wages, up to a limit of $10,000. Payment under PIP, like any insurance policy, is made after paying the deductible. Covered care includes hospital bills, doctor visits, and rehabilitation. If you wait more than 14 days to seek care, you may not have any benefits available. PIP coverage continues when the insured is driving out of state in their own car. However, family members driving out of state would not be covered–even if they are driving the family car.
PIP provides minimal, mandatory coverage no matter who is at fault. However, in a serious accident where you or a loved one has incurred a devastating injury, the $10,000 limit on PIP coverage probably won’t be enough to cover medical bills or lost wages. In addition, PIP doesn’t compensate for pain and suffering. However, you and your attorney can go outside the state’s no-fault laws and bring a claim for damages against the other driver.
How Kogan & DiSalvo Can Help
After an accident, dealing with your insurer and other variables is stressful. At Kogan & DiSalvo, we could communicate with your insurer and other parties so that you can focus on your health. We’ll make sure the insurance company is providing benefits to all appropriate parties. In addition, we’ll defend you in any legal action related to the accident. Our experienced car accident lawyers will advise you on how best to protect your rights in a settlement or trial.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
If you have been injured in a car accident, contact us at Kogan & DiSalvo. Our veteran attorneys are well-versed in Florida’s negligence laws with a proven track record of outstanding settlements and verdicts. We work hard to help clients get their lives back on track with minimal disruption. Contact us today for a free, no-obligation consultation. We work on a contingency basis, so there are no upfront legal fees.