If you have been in an accident involving an Uber driver in Florida, seeking medical attention, gathering evidence, and understanding Florida’s rideshare accident laws should be your priority. All car accidents come with stress and uncertainty, but Uber accidents can be especially overwhelming. You may be wondering: Who is liable? Can I sue Uber directly? Who can help me move on from this mess?
Don’t let your right to recover compensation pass you by. Here are the steps Kogan & DiSalvo’s car accident attorneys recommend you take immediately after the accident to protect your health and maximize your chance of receiving compensation:
Contact the Police
It is critical to contact the police and file a police report at the time of the accident. This provides an official record of what happened during the incident and can be used as evidence later on. Be sure to provide all relevant details, such as:
- The time the event happened
- Location of the accident
- The drivers involved
- Any other important observations
Gather Information and Evidence
If you can do so, collect evidence from the scene of the accident. Speak to all other drivers in the crash and get their contact and insurance information. Since there can be many parties involved in an Uber accident claim, having sufficient evidence from the onset can help minimize complications.
Gathering evidence will also help establish liability in case a dispute arises over who was at fault for causing the crash.
Some tips for saving potential evidence include:
- Recording names and contact information from witnesses
- Taking as many photos as you can of the scene, the vehicles involved, and any apparent injuries
- Writing down any extra information you remember, like weather or road conditions, or reckless driving behavior
Report Your Claim to Your Insurance Company
Contact your insurance company as soon as possible so they can begin processing any claims related to your Uber accident in Florida. You will need to provide them with all relevant information, including details about both drivers involved, witnesses present, vehicle damage, and other losses sustained due to the crash.
Remember, only reveal the necessary details to an insurance adjuster before consulting an attorney. When you call your insurance company, report that an accident happened, but do not speculate on liability. Throwaway comments could be used against you in the future, no matter how insignificant they may seem.
Seek Medical Attention
Finally, seek medical attention as soon as possible after an Uber accident. Your health and safety are a priority.
Even if there are no visible signs of injury, it is crucial to be checked out by a doctor in case you sustained any internal injuries that may not show symptoms until later. Any pain or discomfort you experience after the accident must be taken seriously – even if it initially seems minor.
Understand Florida’s Rideshare Accident Laws
Florida’s new ridesharing laws could influence your claim. In Florida, all drivers working for Uber or Lyft must carry $1 million worth of commercial auto insurance coverage per incident. This policy applies anytime a rideshare driver has accepted a trip request but has not yet completed it.
Once a trip request is completed (or if no trip was accepted), drivers have $50 thousand worth of coverage per person/incident, up to $100 thousand total per incident.
For example: if multiple passengers were injured during an accident with an Uber driver, then this coverage could potentially provide individual compensation to each rider with a cap of $100 thousand total across all riders involved in the crash.
It’s essential to understand that Uber and/or Lyft provide this insurance, but it only covers damages caused by their employees while they are actively engaged in Uber-ing. If an off-duty Uber driver injures you, Uber’s insurance coverage may not be an option to recover compensation.
Who is liable in a rideshare accident and how much compensation you are eligible to receive varies depending on these factors:
- Off-Duty Uber Drivers: The Uber driver’s commercial driver insurance policy pays.
- On-Duty Uber Drivers Not Logged Into App: The Uber driver is responsible for coverage.
- Logged-In, Waiting Uber Drivers: The driver pays, but Uber pays $50K per person and $100K per accident.
- Ride-Requested Uber Drivers: Uber’s million-dollar insurance policy becomes effective.
Contact Kogan & DiSalvo
At Kogan & DiSalvo, we know how to navigate the confusing realm of rideshare liability and insurance coverage in Florida. Our Uber accident lawyers are poised and prepared to investigate every detail of your case to pursue the compensation you deserve.
When you reach out to us for help, we take that seriously. Our attorneys always act in our client’s best interest and explore all avenues toward compensation following an Uber accident.
Your path to justice is just a call away. Request a consultation from a Florida car accident lawyer at Kogan & DiSalvo today.